JEE Eligibility Critaria

Understanding JEE Main

2024 Eligibility Criteria JEE Main, a vital national-level entrance exam, serves as a gateway for admission to various engineering institutes across India. To avoid rejection, aspiring candidates must thoroughly comprehend the eligibility criteria set by the National Testing Agency (NTA) for JEE Main 2024.
1. Nationality
Indian citizens, as well as foreign nationals, NRIs, PIOs, and OCIs, are eligible to apply.
2. Age Requirements
No age limit for candidates appearing in JEE Main 2024.
Candidates who passed the 12th examination in 2023 or 2022, or are appearing in
2024, are eligible.
3. Total Attempts
Maximum of three consecutive attempts allowed for JEE Main 2024.
Candidates can attempt the exam twice a year, making a total of six attempts.
4. Qualifying Exam
Acceptable qualifying exams include:
10+2 board exams by recognized Central or State Boards.
Two-year Pre-University or Intermediate examination by recognized
Universities or Boards.
Various other equivalent exams listed by NTA.
5. Year Of Passing The Qualifying Exam
Candidates must have completed the 12th-grade board exam or equivalent in 2022 or
Those appearing for the Class 12 exam or equivalent in 2024 are also eligible.
6. Diploma Holders
Diploma holders can apply for JEE Main, but their rank and score won’t be considered
for NITs or CFTIs.
7. Marks Eligibility
For B.Tech admissions: Minimum 75% marks for General category, or top 20
percentile in 10+2 board exams.
For B.Arch admissions: 50% aggregate marks in Physics, Chemistry, and
Mathematics in 10+2 or equivalent. JEE Main 2024 Eligibility for Repeaters Previously, the National Testing Agency (NTA) imposed an age limit of less than 24 years for
JEE Main candidates. However, this restriction has now been eliminated. To qualify for JEE
Main 2024, repeaters must meet the following criteria:
Passing Exam:
Candidates must have passed the 12th class exam or an equivalent qualifying
exam in either 2022 or 2023.

Minimum Marks:

Repeater candidates who appeared for the class 12th board exam should secure at least 75% of the marks in the qualifying exam.

Subject Requirement:

In the qualifying exam, candidates must have studied a minimum of 5 subjects, with Physics and Mathematics as compulsory subjects.

JEE Advanced Eligibility:
To be eligible for JEE Advanced, candidates must first pass JEE Main. Only
the top 2,50,000 JEE Main qualifiers are allowed to take the Advanced exam.

State Code of Eligibility:
The State code of eligibility refers to the state from where the candidate
passed their Class XII exam.
The candidate’s place of birth or residency is not considered for the state code of eligibility.
For instance, if a candidate’s native place is Noida, Uttar Pradesh, but they appeared for the Grade XII exam in New Delhi, their state code of eligibility would be Delhi, not Uttar Pradesh.
 If a candidate graduated from one state but appeared for improvement exams
in another state, their state code of eligibility remains the state where they
first passed the Grade XII exam.
Candidates passing or appearing for their class 12th through NIOS should select their state of eligibility based on their study centre’s location.
 Indian citizens who passed the Class XII exam in Nepal or Bhutan will have
their state code of eligibility based on their permanent address as listed in
their passport. Upon completing all stages of the JEE 2024 exam, qualified students can enroll in prestigious engineering programs like B.Tech, B.E., B.Arch, and Integrated MSc at esteemed institutions such as NITs and IIITs.


Understanding and meeting the JEE Main 2024 eligibility criteria are crucial steps for
aspiring candidates. Success in JEE Main opens doors to prestigious engineering institutes like NITs and IIITs. For top-notch coaching and guidance, consider joining Origin Educare, India’s leading IIT coaching institute. Stay updated with Origin Educare for the latest updates and guidance throughout your preparation journe

Talk to Our Expert

Student form